Monday, July 11, 2016

Graduate Conference in Public Law at the University of Texas

Sandy Levinson

A group of graduate students are organizing the third annual Graduate Conference in Public Law, to be held at the University of Texas Law School on October 13-15, 2016.  The two earlier gatherings provided excellent occasions for graduate students throughout the country to meet one another and discuss their excellent work.  This year should be no different.  A full announcement is found below:

The Department of Government at the University of Texas at Austin invites graduate student submissions for the third annual Graduate Conference in Public Law, to be held October 13 - 15, 2016. The event is co-sponsored by the Strauss Center, the Clements Center, and the Rapoport Center.
Reflecting the growing prominence of public law in the broader discipline of political science, the conference is intended to provide a forum for engagement with common questions in the field. We welcome abstracts on all aspects of public law, including but not limited to:
  • American and Comparative Constitutionalism
  • Jurisprudence and Judicial Behavior
  • Legal Theory, or Political Theory with a Public Law dimension
  • Security and International Law
  • Human Rights
  • Constitutional and Statutory Design
  • Public Administration
The conference will consist of thematic panels, each featuring 3-4 papers and comments by a faculty member from the University of Texas. The keynote address, to be delivered the afternoon of October 14, will be given by Professor Pamela Brandwein of the University of Michigan.
Abstracts of no more than 250 words, accompanied by an up-to-date C.V., should be submitted by July 20th, 2016, to Approximately 25 papers will be accepted, and grants of up to $350 will be awarded to participants. Participants should plan to submit final drafts of about 20-30 pages by the middle of September. Meals will be provided throughout the conference, and participants will be invited to a dinner reception following Dr. Brandwein’s keynote lecture.
Questions may be directed to
Student organizers: Thomas Bell, Maggie Moslander, Christina Noriega, Nathalia Sandoval, and Robert Shaffer (Department of Government)

Older Posts
Newer Posts